Sundays are now for (Sun)thing New!

I have long made the confession that I have a monkey brain that keeps me having new ideas all the time and wanting to do many things at one time. Well, one advice I got from books I recently read, is to organize my time and my thoughts, and leave proper time for everything. So I combined all the various theories out there, and decided that I am going to dedicate time for myself to embrace whatever ideas that may pop into my head from time to time 🙂 Sundays are now.. for something new.

What does that mean? It means that I am going to dedicate every Sunday to try something new, start something new, or do something for the first time. I figured this will make my Sunday feature much more interesting, and it’s also a great exercise for me to practice dedicating time for specific identities. And since I am always intrigued by things around me, rather than being distracted by thinking about them too much and wondering if I should do something about it, I thought I might as well switch my mindset and turn this bad “habit” into something useful 🙂 Who knows what opportunities this may mean for me! I’ll go with my mantra and let things flow, we’ll see how things go 🙂

So what did I do today for the first time? I played tourist! There is a relatively new train line called the Downtown Line which I have never taken, and there is this Sunday Flea Market which I always wanted to go, so I looked at the map and thought, wala! I could take the new train line to this market and this shall be my first “Sunthing New”!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So I happily took the train on this new line and got off, and started to walk towards my destination with the help of the map. Took a break and had a light snack of traditional biscuit and Teh Tarik (basically traditional milk tea)!

I then walked on and reached where I was supposed to go, then I found out the market has moved! Fortunately it’s still nearby and within walking distance… just that it’s not near to the station of the new line I got off from :p

 

Some sights along the way…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAReached the Flea Market and walked around a bit. The market is pretty packed, and most of what’s on sale are collectible toys, figurines, antiques and curios. 2nd hand fashion seekers however, will be disappointed, as there are next to zero second hand clothings on sale.. this won’t be the right market for you..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

After a walk in the market feeling accomplished, I went on to satisfy my craving for sashimi which I missed having in Tokyo where I recently visited. They were really good, and I took the chance to practice some food photography.. somehow there’s still something lacking and I will work on that a bit more..

Overall it’s a great Sunday! I hope you like this new feature and continue to look out for what new things I’m going to do next Sunday and the next and the next 🙂

Wish you all a Happy Week ahead!

Weekend Flea Market @ China Square Central
Venue: China Square Central Level 1 & 2
Opening Hours: 11am – 6pm
Nearest MRT Station: NE4 Chinatown, Exit E

 

One thought on “Sundays are now for (Sun)thing New!

Leave a Reply

